dyeing for the undefined

In the forward of a copy of Ali Smith’s ‘Girl meets boy’ I read this quote by Joseph Roth; ‘It is the mark of a narrow world that mistrusts the undefined’.

Since I stopped painting nearly 5 years ago I have had ‘issues’ with colour in my work. I am fearful of prettiness,of the suggestion of representation,of trite interpretation pinning my work down. Even as I am beguiled by the drab greens and greys of the riverscape, the flashes of mustard yellow as Spring emerges from the hold of Winter, the catch of red from a birds wing.

So in the hope of broadening my world I spend a morning dyeing for the ‘undefined’.

rack

rack

Leave a Reply

